Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Lorna

Gender: Female
Breed: Dachshund
Status: Adoptable

LOOKING TO BE LOVED: 10 years old / 13 lbs. and needs to lose a few lbs.

Hello - my name's Lorna! I'm a sweet lady who sadly lived my whole life as a breeder dog. Now that I'm older and no longer valuable to the breeder, I have to go. Thankfully Mostly Mutts came to my rescue and will help me find a loving home to live the rest of my days in luxury, love and comfort! Perhaps with YOU?

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I came in with other doxies from the same situation as myself, and I absolutely love their company. I coexist well with the other dogs in my foster home, but my Doxie friends and I are a fun, happy crew. We all seem more confident and active when we are together. Maybe you would like to multiply the Doxie love in your family and take us home? It is not necessary that we be adopted together of course, but - it would be a blast / Cats unknown (though my foster thinks my temperament would be fine with a dog-friendly kitty), so…let's meet / I've not met kids while with Mostly Mutts, but older gentle children in my new home that will be patient and understanding of my skittishness may work for me, let's meet and no toddlers or small children please!

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a skittish girl when getting used to new surroundings. My foster says I have a Piglet personality - If you remember Winnie the Pooh. I do want attention and follow my foster around the house but back away when she attempts to pet me, though I am improving with this now that I've been in the home for a while. I'll need a patient, loving and understanding family that will allow me the time needed to feel at home. I do bark when I hear noises upstairs or if anyone comes in the door. So…apartment or condo living would not likely be a good fit for me / My energy level is 2-4.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I don’t know specific skills, but my focus is currently on gaining confidence / I am only crated for short periods (mainly for my mealtimes, to separate me from other dogs…I eat FAST). Otherwise, I do not use one much in my foster home, as my foster wanted to focus on my being comfortable and less skittish / I was not potty trained in my former life situation, so I need you to patiently help me learn this. I don’t consistently use potty pads or do my business outside, so there have been accidents. Please continue to be patient with me on a good, consistent schedule, so I can master my potty skills.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I LOVE food…and need to love it less, as I need to lose a few pounds to get to my healthy weight. As a former breeder dog, I also like to snack on poo, so I will need you to keep an eye on me and help me break this habit. I am slowly allowing more petting from my people and think I can really get used to receiving all the love I deserve / I don't like being rushed into a relationship - let me get used to you please. (Tip - food helps)

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and spayed. I have a grade 4 heart murmur, so I will need to stay on 2 heart medications for life. My teeth were in such bad shape that they had to be removed so I'm eating soft food with some no salt chicken broth added - that makes it easier for me to eat.

I am looking for a loving family to give me a wonderful home! Adoption fee $299.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.