Narrow Your Furbaby Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input



Sponsor Options


Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032



Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Shepherd
Status: Adoptable

A GREAT COMPANION-IN-THE-MAKING: 4 years old / 80 lbs. and needs to lose a lot of weight

I’m one lucky dog! The founder of Ride To Rescue saw a need for rescuing dogs that are living in rural situations without the medical care and human love that all dogs need! So, she went to work with the community, and I am one of those dogs that was rescued along with my puppies who have all been adopted! I participated in the prison foster/training program, and I’ve come a long way already, but am very shy of new things and people. I was adopted, gained a lot of weight, and then was returned as it was not a good fit.

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I prefer to live without other dogs, but I can be around other calm dogs – such as going for walks with them, etc. In general, I don’t like being face to face with most other dogs / Cats unknown / I’m looking for a home without kids as they make me very uncomfortable, though kids can stop by as long as I have a safe space to go where I won’t be bothered.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am just the sweetest girl who wants SO badly to establish human contact. I spent a good portion (perhaps all) of my life without it, so it is a slow, but steady adjustment and I am making progress every day. It is as if my brain is sending two conflicting signals – one side wants to run, but the other side has me wagging my tail and coming closer for affection. Once I trust you, I am very loving and sweet, but gaining my trust takes time and patience. I respect and follow the good leadership of my foster parents who are trainers and will be happy to talk with you, the MM training team is always happy to help! I did nip at an ankle once when I was afraid of a new person that came into my home and instructions were not followed / My energy level is currently 3-5 but will likely be more like 4-6 once I’m adjusted in my new family.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I'm a Mostly Mutts University graduate and will show you these skills once you gain my trust and respect. They are the 'sit', 'stay', 'down', 'come', 'drop it', 'leave it' and 'place' commands. Also, proper door etiquette and good leash manners as well as accepting nice strangers without jumping. Because of my fear of outdoor noises and activity, I will pull occasionally on my leash to go back home during walks. The Mostly Mutts trainers who are my fosters are working to build my confidence when I am outdoors. I’ll need an adopter that can physically manage the pulling from a strong dog. My fosters/trainers will provide my furever family with the guidance to manage the leash pulling and set me up for the success to overcome my fear of outdoor noises and activities as walks are important to my health and well-being. I currently take 3 walks a day which is helping me get in better shape and learn that outdoor walks are safe with my person. I'll need you to be very patient with me / I am quiet and did well in my little room at the shelter and occasionally greeted the volunteers with a nice ’Howwwl’ and sometimes a full-body tail wag when happy to see them – so cute. In my foster home I sleep on a dog bed at night and not in a crate / My potty manners were good in the prison/foster training program and have also been great in my foster home. I would rather hold it than go in the house.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love Pup-Peroni treats and slow, calm people as well as gentle petting. As my confidence grows, so does my love of the kind people who care for me. I'd love a quiet home without a lot of folks coming and going and a strong leader to follow like my foster parents are / I am frightened of loud sounds or anything that startles me and new situations and people. It's challenging for me to be in crowds, too.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and spayed.

I am looking for a loving and patient family who will slowly expose me to new things and not overwhelm me, perhaps that's you! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.





Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area