Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Chester

Gender: Male
Breed: German Shepherd
Secondary Breed: Beagle
Status: Adoptable

AN ACTIVE & FUN-LOVING FELLOW: 3 years old / 43lbs

Hi, I'm Chester! Mostly Mutts came for me at animal control & initially thought I had burns on my back. Thank goodness, that was not the case, but rather a very bad case of allergies! Good vet care, allergy medicine & a special food have me feeling great now. I got to participate in the prison foster/training program where I learned a lot!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I loved playing with the dogs I met in the prison foster/training program, however I do guard & growl when I have something new or that I’m not supposed to have, so we could potentially get into a scuffle (it’s happened). My trainers can swap out what I have by trading it for a treat. So, if you are very dog experienced, I may be able to live with another dog, though I should be crated when you are not home. Let’s meet along with my trainer and your dog and see how we do together / No cats as I did try to get the neighbor’s cat in a temp foster home / Older child please (ages 15+). I met two kids at Mostly Mutts (ages 7 & 10) & wasn't able to control my excitement, but I showed no aggression. Kids shouldn't walk me as I can be a bit of a challenge on my leash.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I'm a super sweet, happy guy that just wants to have a fun time! I'm very friendly & playful! My whole-body wags to show my love & enthusiasm! I am definitely what one would call a 'people dog'. I can be a bit mouthy when I play, but my foster is reminding me to channel my energy to toys instead! I will “talk” sometimes when I’m excited or hungry, but I don’t bark too much. While I LOVE to be active, I was completely fine having a lazy day of lounging & sleeping when my foster wasn’t feeling well / My energy level is 6-8, so I would be happiest with an active family member who will help me use up my energy on a regular basis.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: In the Mostly Mutts University training program, I am showing how smart I am with the commands I have mastered: ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’, ‘go to your place’, & ‘bang bang’. I also use proper door etiquette & will wait for you to tell me it’s ok to go outside. I also know how to accept friendly strangers without jumping, but sometimes I get so excited that I forget. I’m working with my foster and trainer on this as well as my leash skills. I need a gentle leader leash to help keep me focused as I can be a bit of a challenge if I see a squirrel. They just get me so excited! I’d be fine not going on walks as long as you promise to play with me a lot! / I learned to go into my crate on command in the prison program & I was well-behaved & quiet in my crate (even overnight) / My potty habits have been great at Mostly Mutts & in my foster home.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I really like to play & be active with the volunteers & my foster, so I love fetch, chewing on sticks, & squeaky toys. Water is also fun!! A fenced yard where I can run off some energy with you would be great & likely key to me being a well-adjusted & happy guy. Digging is also fun, so keep an eye on me. I love stuffed animals, so much so that I tear them to pieces instantaneously. A newfound hobby is people watching through the front door in my foster home. I also ride well in the car. When I'm not playing, I love to nap on my comfy doggie bed / I don't like walking by storm drains, so let's walk around them please. (See above dog section on needing a very dog experienced owner since I don’t like to share new things that I think of as my treasures.) I would not be happy if I did not get the exercise, training, love & attention on which I thrive!

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & neutered. I'm on a special non-prescription food (Kangaroo) which I should stay on as it's helping my skin sensitivity & Apoquel medicine for skin allergies.

I am looking for a family that is a match for my active & fun nature! Adoption fee $299.00. I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.