Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Blazer

Gender: Male
Breed: Labrador
Secondary Breed: Shepherd
Status: Adoptable

A BIG, FRIENDLY GUY: 1 year old / 60 lbs.

Hi there! My name is Blazer! Mostly Mutts rescued me from animal control, and I could not be more grateful! I'm currently participating in the prison foster/training program offsite, having fun and learning a lot!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I enjoy playing other dogs in the controlled prison/foster training environment with my trainers/leaders, but I have been reactive to other dogs on leash while in the shelter environment and in homes due to being overstimulated, resulting in several redirect bites while on the leash trying to get to other dogs. I need a proper introduction and supervision by a dog savvy leader in an environment where I feel comfortable and relaxed, and it will take me a few days to acclimate to my new environment. If handled properly I will thrive, so if you have a friendly dog and are willing to follow my trainers' guidelines for introducing us, let's meet! / No cats / I met some kids at Mostly Mutts (ages 7-11 years old) and I liked them a lot! I, however, do not know my size, and I was jumpy and mouthy with them. Not at all to be mean, I just don't understand being gentle just yet. So, kids 15+ will be best for me and let's meet! Kids should not walk me.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a friendly guy who is a loving goof ball - sure to steal your heart. I am strong and a bit of a 'bull in a china shop' with a very happy nature, so I need an owner who will help me harness my strength and be a great companion. It's best that I don’t live in an apartment/condo type home due to being on leash and close to many other dogs / My energy level is 6-8 so let's be active together!

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I am a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program, where I have learned the 'sit', 'stay', 'come', 'down', 'drop it', 'leave it', and 'go to your place' commands as well as loose leash walking (unless other dogs are near), proper door etiquette, and accepting friendly strangers without jumping. I'll do all of these behaviors for a good leader. Mostly Mutts also recommends continuous on leash training so I can learn not to react on leash to other dogs / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts and in the prison program. In the prison program I have also been well-behaved when left alone for short periods without a crate. / I am doing well with my potty habits on the shelter and prison program schedules, so hopefully that will be the case in my new home, too.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I like spending time with the volunteers and always love a good game of fetch with the tennis ball. I am a great jumper and not shy about trying to leap over the gate to my room, so be mindful of my strength when out in the yard. I also love to snack on some yummy treats and just love belly rubs, too! / Loud noises startle me such as revving engines, and I would not be happy if I did not get the love, exercise, training, and attention I deserve!

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered.

I am looking for a dog savvy leader dedicated to my training and to providing me with a wonderful home! My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.