Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78


Gender: Male
Breed: Chihuahua
Secondary Breed: Rat Terrier
Status: Adoptable

A GREAT FUR FRIEND IN THE MAKING: 5 years old / Currently 15 lbs. and on a diet

Hi, I’m Landry! I was adopted from Mostly Mutts in Dec. 2018. Unfortunately, the landlord where my family lived said I needed to leave for barking & growling at her. So, I’m back with my original foster & settling in nicely in this calm home.

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I enjoy playing & hanging out with the other little dogs in my foster home & I go along with whatever they do, so if you have a nice doggie already, let’s meet / My former owners said I should not live with cats / Due to my growling & barking at folks & not liking sudden movements, a home with no kids is what I need.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I am a people dog once I know & love you. In my former home I was allowed to choose my favorite person, then I become possessive of them by growling & snipping when others approached. Please set boundaries for me & help me know that you are the leader. I need to get clear signals that I can’t ‘guard’ my person with snippy behavior. (MM’s is happy to give you details on how to be successful with this trainable behavior) Some tips are to not carry me around or have me in your lap a lot, & not elevating me to your level as well as not sleeping in bed with you until I understand that all the people are the leaders. I’m not an overly barky pup, but I do bark if I hear something I don’t recognize & at times when someone enters the room / My energy level is 5-7.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I like treats, so my training should be fun & you can teach me lots of things, but not too many treats please as I still need to lose a bit more weight / My former owners reported that I had good crate manners & I’m just fine with my crate in my foster home – I’ll cover myself with blankets & sleep soundly all night. I also like to eat my meals in my crate / My potty manners are very good in my foster home.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I like toys, chew bones, & soft places to nap. I also like going for walks & sniffing things along the way which will help me lose the rest of the weight I need to lose. My foster family has really helped me with this - they are the best! In my foster home, I just love affection from everyone in the home all the time. I’ll paw at you if you stop petting me & I’ll roll over & show you my belly asking for endless belly rubs. My former owner reported that I like men more than women, & - while it is true that I DO love men, I really did enjoying the female volunteers’ as they were working calmly/slowly with me, & I like the female in my foster home too – I just respond best when not rushed/surprised & when I see you coming towards me / I don’t like an environment with a lot of commotion & fast movements, as I become anxious/fearful, which leads to snippy defensiveness on my part. Also, no apartments as that didn’t work for me since there are so many neighbors & lots of dogs that I have to pass on my walks.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & neutered.

I am looking for a kind family in a calm home who will set boundaries for me - knowing I am loved! My adoption fee is $299.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.