Narrow Your Puppy Results

Questions About Animals?

Please let us know your name.
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input
Please write a subject for your message.
Please let us know your message.
Invalid Input

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT MOSTLY MUTTS BY CLICKING THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW!


TAKE IT A STEP FURTHER AND SETUP AN AUTOMATIC MONTHLY DONATION!

Monthly Support Options

 WE EVEN TAKE CHECKS! FOR DONATION!

Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoptions Inc. 3238 Cherokee Street Kennesaw, GA 30144

501(c)(3) nonprofit organization 

All or part of your gift may be tax deductible as a charitable contribution.  Please check with your tax advisor.

Tax ID 41-2142032

Please click the animals name to view their profile.

Previous

Betty Boop

Gender: Female
Breed: American Staffordshire Terrier
Secondary Breed: Mix
Status: Adoptable

A LOYAL, PROTECTIVE FAMILY MEMBER: 7 years old / 50 lbs.

Hello! My name is Betty & want to let you know up front, I do not like strangers! You may sleep easy knowing I am guarding you while you rest. I love my people & adore cuddles and couch time. Just remember, I have got your back! My ideal home is a single person who needs the comfort, love, & safety of my presence!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I want to be the Alpha when I’m with other dogs. Being the Alpha dog hasn’t been an issue when other dogs don’t mind that I take the lead. So, if you have a submissive natured dog, let’s meet / No kitty cats, I’m just too much dog for a cat / No kids please. I do love kids but cannot deal with the coming & going of strangers/parents that accompany kids.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I love being with my people. I wouldn’t do well if you were gone all day at work. So, I’ll be happiest in a home with a stay/work from home family member who wants to spend lots of time with their dog. I do have some anxiety & bark if left alone for too long, so an apartment/townhome is not a good fit for me, also due to so many people coming & going (I’m on some meds for anxiety, see below). However, I was relaxed in my former foster home, which was peaceful, so just give me some time to adjust to a new home. Also, a home with a secure, tall fence would be best for me so that I have plenty of running space to work off some energy. I also did well with a dog walker in my temp. foster home. / My energy level is 4-6.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m very smart & a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program. I’ve mastered the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’ & ‘place’ commands. I also use proper door etiquette & have good leash manners. I do very well following direction from my trainers as well as the strong leaders in my former foster home. I ride well in the car too, so you can take me places with you / I do NOT like a crate but have done fine without one. Just have a designated room for me if you want to confine me while you are gone, and when strangers come over. I enjoyed sleeping at night on a comfy dog bed in my former foster’s bedroom / I had perfect potty manners on a regular schedule in my former foster home too.
• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love my daily walks & am a great running & hiking buddy. While I’ve worked hard with my trainers to feel more at ease with strangers, I just don’t all the time. I don’t need or want to go on very public crowded outings & would rather just hang at home with you, hike some trails, walk in the neighborhood, or play in the backyard. My favorite place to hang out is with my people / I have been reactive to unfamiliar people that entered my home, so I need to meet new people outdoors. People dressed in dark color clothing or uniforms make me very nervous, so I may be reactive to them. My trainers taught me skills to help manage this behavior, although I can still bark at times. They can give my forever family guidance on how to best handle my behavior. In my former home, I bit a person’s ankle who was dressed in dark clothing that approached me quickly without warning. I also don’t like being restrained by the vet & don’t like being in water. I don’t want to be crated or gated away from you. I would not be happy if I didn’t get the love & guidance which I thrive on.

• MEDICAL: I am on some anxiety medications & may be able to be weaned off those once that I’m settled into my new home. Time will tell. I’m current on vaccinations, micro-chipped & spayed.

I’m looking for a family to make me a cherished family member! My adoption fee is $100.00, & I’m in Kennesaw, Ga.

 

  

 

 

Our Mission

The mission of Mostly Mutts Animal Rescue and Adoption, Inc. is to work closely with animal control officers and other rescue organizations to reduce the number of animals entering into and being euthanized at local shelters.  Mostly Mutts provides housing, health care, training, physical and emotional care to adoptable animals, while we work toward finding them a loving home.  Mostly Mutts is also involved in the community with education and awareness programs primarily in the Metro Atlanta Area