Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/18/d608162863/htdocs/MostlyMuttsAnimalRescue/components/com_bt_portfolio/views/portfolio/tmpl/print.php on line 78

Baily

Gender: Female
Breed: Chihuahua
Secondary Breed: Corgi
Status: Adoptable

A SWEET, BLIND & MOSTLY DEAF LADY: 13 years old / 19lbs.

 

Hello there! My name is Baily! I came from animal control in need of some TLC as it was clear that my needs had not been met for quite a while. An older blind & mostly deaf girl who has also been diagnosed with diabetes; I sure am thankful that Mostly Mutts entered my world & is meeting my needs! Now I need an angel to adopt, love & take great care of me!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I came in with a medium sized dog that I got along great with, & I liked some of the calm dogs I met at Mostly Mutts but showed avoidance with others. A meet & greet with any other dogs in my new home is a must because I am unable to read verbal & non-verbal cues from other dogs. Also, I sometimes bump into other dogs, so I’ll need my doggie siblings to be patient with me. I may sniff other dogs, but I’m not interested in engaging in any play, so if you have a calm dog let’s meet / Cats unknown / I met a couple of gentle 10-year-olds at the Mostly Mutts facility & liked them, so if you have gentle kids about that age who will understand my special needs, let’s meet.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I’m a sweet girl who is working with the physical challenge of being blind & almost completely deaf (I can hear a little bit), so I’m quite cautious, but I am a friendly & affectionate girl who has shown such resilience! I must be an indoor dog & watched closely, & I shouldn’t go up/down stairs due to my loss of vision. / My energy level is 2-3.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m learning to calm myself in new surroundings & to find a mat & stay on it to keep me safe. I also walk very well on a leash! I like to walk on my handler’s left side & brush up against their leg so I know where they are. I wear a Halo vest (a special vest with a nose guard). Mostly Mutts got it for me & it keeps me from bumping my nose & face into things. My Halo will come with me to my new home! / My crate manners were pretty good at Mostly Mutts though it’s not my favorite place / My potty manners were great in my former foster home. My foster mom led me to the door to go out to potty, & I quickly learned how to explore the backyard without bumping into things, (but I should still be watched). I’ll need some adjustment/getting to know my environment time, so please take me out consistently.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I like spending time with my people & enjoy being petted & loved on. I like a soft bed as it helps to ease me. / I’m not a huge fan of being held. Since I’m blind & mostly deaf, I don’t like to be rushed, so please go slow with me in new environments & let me sniff a bit.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations & micro-chipped. We think that I’m spayed but can’t confirm. Due to my age, the vet thinks it best we do not spay me if I’m not already spayed, & since I’m past the puppy bearing age. I’m getting special baths for my skin for a little while longer. I’m blind & have chronic dry eye, so I’ll need to stay on lubricating drops a couple times daily so my eyes will feel good & I’m deaf. We also discovered that I have diabetes, so I eat special food for that & need insulin shots twice a day for life. I’ve done well with a 2 person system for giving me shots at the shelter, & lots of praise after.

I am looking for an angel to love me who has a calm home and will treasure me & take precautions to keep me safe since I cannot see or hear! My adoption fee is $100.00, & I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.